The Role of Governors

Governors are the strategic leaders of the school and have a vital role to play in making sure every child gets the best possible education. They focus on three core strategic functions:

    • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
    • Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff;
    • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent. The governors are accountable to parents and other key stakeholders in the community for decisions taken about the school. If you have any questions for the governing body please contact the Chair of Governors, c/o Oak Lodge School, 101 Nightingale Lane, London SW12 8NA
    • The Governing Body
    • Governors are actively involved in supporting the school working with staff on a variety of projects to improve the facilities, opportunities and achievements of our students.
    • The Governors of Oak Lodge School are responsible with the Head Teacher for setting the aims and objectives of the school, and monitoring progress in delivering the best educational outcomes for all students.


Governors Appointed as: Date of appointment Business Interests Declared
Desmond Jarrett Chair, Co-opted Governor 01/ 06/ 2017 None
Sue Machell Vice Chair, Co-opted Governor 01/06/2017 None
Jane Biddulph Parent Governor 12/12/2016 None
Stephen Cave Co-opted Governor 26/11/2013 None
Amy Lafferty-Herbert Co-opted Governor 12/12/2017 None
Mike Smith Co-opted Governor 12/12/2017 None
James Torrance Co-opted Governor 12/12/2017 None
Hikmat Khaleeli Co-opted Governor 12/12/2017 None
Levent Marasli Staff Governor 11/6/2015 None
 Nkechi Ofor  Parent Governor  12/12/2017  None
Derek Kitchin Executive Headteacher 1/1/2018 OFSTED Inspector
Governors stood down in the last year
Kate Clanchy Resigned Dec 2017
Michael Vivian Co-opted Governor
Saffron Whitehead Resigned April 2018


All governors are appointed for a four year term, unless indicated otherwise. The Chair and Vice Chair are elected every two years.

None of the Governors hold Governorships in other schools.

None of the Governors or their partners has business interests that are relevant to the school.

The full governing body meets 3 times a year, in addition the following sub committees also meet at least once a term.


Committee Membership

Committee Chairs are responsible for the circulation of a draft Agenda the call for papers and finalising the Agenda in conjunction with the appropriate staff member or clerk of the committee. 

Autumn 2017 4 Sept – 20 Dec; Spring 2018 2 Jan – 22 March; Summer 2018 26 April – 5 July.


Student Welfare & Progress  Resources  Deaf First  Pay and Staff Disciplinary & Grievance Committees
Chair S Machell S Cave D Jarrett D Jarrett
Other Members(Advisors are in italics) A Lafferty-HerbertD JarrettJBiddulph

D Kitchin

C Mukasa

R Rust

D. WatkinsS MachellM Smith

J Torrance

H Khaleeli

D Kitchin

C Mukasa


K Chapman

D WatkinsJBiddulphLMarasli

M Smith



D Kitchin


K Chapman

As and when needed, appointments to be made.Staff Appeals CommitteeAd hoc membership drawn from Governors not listed for original hearing.

Parent Governors 2 – Jane Biddulph Vacancy 1;  LA Governor 1  Dan Watkins;  Headteacher 1 – Derek Kitchin;  Staff governor 1 – Levent Marasli

Co-opted Governors 9 – Stephen Cave, Desmond Jarrett, Sue Machell, Saffron Whitehead, Amy Herbert-Lafferty, James Torrance, Mike Smith, Hikmat Khaleeli.


Section Governor SLT Link
Leadership & Management Sue Machell Derek Kitchin
Teaching & Learning Mike Smith Bunty Dames
Pupil outcomes Jane Biddulph / Des Jarrett Christine Mukasa
Personal Development Behaviour & Welfare Amy Herbert-Lafferty Holly Black
Sixth form Stephen Cave / James Torrance Karen Duggan-Stevens
Residential Sue Machell / Amy Herbert-Lafferty Rachel Rust
Premises Des Jarrett Derek Kitchin, Karen Chapman

The complaints procedure can be found under the school policies tab here

Governing Body – Attendance Record

Schedule of Governors Meetings

Instrument of Governance

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>